#WinterABC24: What the AfroBloggers community means to you- One big family

Baba

I was angry at you, you left without saying goodbye and you kept me a secret. Was it because of the shame or guilt? Why was I never allowed to let anyone know that I was related to you? Your death was painful, I was devastated and I could not go to the village and bury you. I had to stay at home and grieve with Ma by my side. I was angry at the world and also angry at you. When the lockdown restrictions were lessened Tete Beatrice and Babamukuru Trevor paid us a visit. They spoke highly of you, but who wouldn’t you had both wealth and wisdom? Tete apologised for keeping us a secret and she came carrying a burden of a heavy request.

Tete Beatrice told Ma and me that you had children around Africa. Although some of the children had never made it to Zimbabwe your ancestral land, they knew of you. My siblings knew and had relationships with your relatives, Baba. Was it the wealth and the fame that made you leave your seed all over Africa? Why did you keep us a secret and away from each other Baba?

Babamukuru Tevin told Ma and I about your 60th post-humus celebration and that it was a chance to meet my siblings. I was hesitant because I was uncertain of how their families would treat or receive me. Babamukuru Tevin said the celebrations would be held in June of 2021 and the celebrations were for twenty- two days. Why that long I asked. “That was his wish to honour his memory the whole of June,” Tete said. I sighed and I agreed to attend the celebrations with Ma.

The village was packed with cars and children arriving from Rwanda, Kenya, Uganda, South Africa and even the diaspora. Yes, Baba, your family welcomed us well and as the celebrations came to an end I began to spend time with some of my siblings. We talked about anything and shared the memories that we had with you Baba and when June came to an end we were sad to say goodbye.

A siblings group was created and I have grown to be fond of my siblings. Ella is struggling with her Master’s thesis but I know she will make it. Oluwayemisi is pregnant and she could not make it to this year’s celebrations but I am travelling to Nigeria early next month and I will be able to meet her baby. Dumi started working and each day he calls he wishes you were here.

Why am I even writing this when I know you won’t be able to read this Baba? Time has taught me to be grateful and yes, although I am angry that I met my siblings after your demise. I am grateful that I do have them in my life and they remind me of you.

Today is the last day of your celebrations and it has been four years since I have been attending. I missed one or two I don’t remember, all I know is Ma was angry.

Your children might around the continent or in the Diaspora but they are my family. I love them deeply and I have learnt a lot from them. They have carried me and held my hand even though they are in distant places. We have smiled and laughed together and what brings us together is our love for you.

Day 20/20, this is my fourth year taking part in the #WinterABC24 and what a journey. This is what the AfroBloggers community means to me and I hope you were able to resonate with this post.Besties, it is a wrap for 2024, God willing I will see you in the next #WinterABC, until then stay shining!

Published by tcndangana

The girl with an overactive imagination

3 thoughts on “#WinterABC24: What the AfroBloggers community means to you- One big family

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started