I am not sorry….

Maybe this race wasn’t destined to make it to the finishing line.

The hurdles were too high, they left you and me with bleeding and aching knees.

The race…. Where do I even begin?

I felt alive, I felt happy and at peace, I wish it had stayed like that forever.

My heart, oh little heart aches because one day everything changed.

I stretched and bent parts of myself to reach you.

At first, I thought to myself I have to take the extra step and get to you.

Yet the painful thing is you never moved an inch, you just watched me shed parts of myself.

I let go of parts of myself with the hope that we might stand a chance.

I was hopeful that things would get better.

All I wanted was for us to go back to the time we fell in love.

All I wanted was to go to sleep without questioning my decisions.

Jabu, being with you brought out the good and the bad side of me.

There were days we were heroes and there were days we were villains of our love story.

On some days, I longed to be with you but on some days, I longed to forget about you.

There is one thing I am ashamed of, I do not regret loving you.

All I regret is how the events turned out.

I will not sulk or cry for loving you, my heart found a home in you.

I felt safe and your presence felt like home.

As I watch the curtains roll on this chapter of our love, I will not cry.

I will hold onto the memory that We once loved each other.

Love brought us together and I will hold onto that memory.

This blog post was inspired by this song✍️🏽❤️

Published by tcndangana

The girl with an overactive imagination

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started